Meet… Alley

Whilst staying with my granny on the North Cost of Ireland, I made a friend…. in the form of a stray cat. She was incredibly timid and so thin so I began to feed her whenever I saw her sitting on grannies wall. She really didn’t like me at first, hissing whenever I came within a couple of meters from her. Granny and I named her Alley, due to her being stray (think Alley cats). She had a bit of hair missing from her head and her ear was split, I presume from fighting. She had the biggest green eyes and longest whiskers I had ever seen on a cat. She was beautiful.

IMG_8248

It took a lot of perseverance and a lot of time but finally I was able to stroke her and eventually pick her up. I decided to find out where she was living and in between two walls she had stashed away three little kittens! Alley was a new mother! After finding this out I made sure she was getting enough food for her to put on a bit of weight which hopefully then would in turn help Alley support the kittens.

FullSizeRender-3

By the time I was leaving my granny house to travel back to Edinburgh, Alley would greet you as you came out of the door, rubbing her little head on your legs. She became incredibly friendly and tame. On my final day Alley was even purring which I hadn’t heard her do.

IMG_8656-1

I was devastated to leave her but I know my granny will be taking great care of Alley and her kittens. I will need to go over and visit her soon (hopefully) before the kittens grow up.